This site requires JavaScript to be enabled
374 views

2.0 - Updated on 2023-09-08 by John Kelly

1.0 - Authored on 2020-09-14 by John Kelly

Google is changing its policy when it comes to My Drive's Trash. The Trash that you see on the left-side pane in Google Drive is your My Drive Trash.  

Beginning October 13, 2020, Google's change is that any file that is put into Google Drive’s My Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days.

Also, please note that starting October 13, 2020 files already in your trash will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day-period, files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted.

This change will now be consistent with how Trash works for Gmail, Calendar, Contacts, and Shared drive with regards to the 30-day auto-delete.

A few more notes:

If you are using Google Drive on Android or iOS, please update your application to the latest version.